enjoying easter weekend

This past weekend, I took a very necessary trip home for the weekend to celebrate Easter with my family. Yes, I realize we practically just had spring break, but I honestly feel as though we’ve been back to school for much longer than only two weeks! Rather than have my parents make the obnoxious trip up to Schenectady from Manchester-by-the-Sea – which would consist of 7 hours in total of driving time for them – on Friday morning, my friend Jill gave me a ride to her house in Oxford. We successfully road-tripped all by ourselves and didn’t even get lost once, which for me is quite a feat. I have literally zero sense of direction. It’s an issue. After finally getting to meet Jill’s parents, whom I’d really been looking forward to meeting, my mom picked me up from Jill’s and we headed back to Manchester.

I’ll be honest: there’s really nothing quite like being home for a weekend when you’re off at college all year. Not only did I get to see my family, but a fair amount of my best friends from high school were all home for the long weekend as well. From walking along the beach to get a slice of pizza at a tiny, local spot and eat it by the water; to ‘family dinners’ consisting of delicious homecooked meals; to girls’ nights with late night sticky-bun (cinnamon rolls for all you non-New Englanders) consumption; to a day full of shopping and a viewing of the new ‘American Pie: Reunion’ movie (which was absolutely hilarious, might I add), I clearly spent a wonderful weekend with some of my closest friends.

On Saturday night, my family and I went to mass at our church because, let’s face it: my older brother and I are certainly not morning people, so an 8:30 a.m. mass was definitely out of the question. Then on Easter morning, while my little cousins partook in the annual Easter egg hunt, I slept in for as long as possible before a delicious meal with my family in the afternoon. Jill and I then repeated the previous Friday’s adventure and returned to school on Sunday night, once again avoiding any confusion or accident. As good as it was to be home, it was even nicer to be back on campus. Happy belated Easter and/or Passover, everyone!

three of my closest friends and me on the beach this past weekend! happy easter!

Leave a Reply

