homecoming and halloween weekend

Well, this post is a little overdue considering the fact that its subject was relevant a week ago. But better late than never! Last weekend, it was Homecoming Weekend at Union, which basically meant that it was alumni weekend here at school, as well as family weekend. Add Halloween on a college campus on top of that and you’ve got yourself one busy weekend. Despite the constant activity, I’d have to say that this past weekend was, without a doubt, my favorite one spent here at school to date.

When you spend so much time away from home, coming back home or having a little bit of home come to you is incredibly refreshing. Regardless of how much your parents and you may have bickered while you were still in high school, come college, there’s a new, mutual understanding. Your parents are fully aware of what college life entails and are accepting of this newfound independence, and this new level in your relationship makes it much easier to coexist, even for just a weekend. That being said, I clearly enjoyed being with my parents all weekend. It was such a breath of fresh air to spend some time away from campus with that sort of familiarity.

Word of advice: take advantage of parents’ weekend! Use that access to a car to eat off campus as much as possible (sorry, West) and get some shopping in. A trip to Wal-Mart on your parents’ dime is so much more enjoyable, not to mention that you don’t need to rely on the shuttle’s bizarre schedule. Pretty sure I also gained the entire freshman fifteen that weekend alone with all the dining out I did…City Squire, Aperitivo, Blue Ribbon Diner, and LT’s Grille – all delicious! Of course, I also let my parents take in the college experience by exploring campus and browsing in the bookstore (though, I don’t recommend going there during halftime of the football game…absolute madness.)

One of my favorite parts of homecoming weekend? My friends finally being able to meet my parents and see where I came from, and vice versa. I’d have to say that was also one of my parents’ favorite part of the weekend too, because they were beyond thrilled to meet some of my closest friends. On Saturday night, my family and three of my closest friends’ families went out to dinner all together, and it was so, so much fun! For having only known each other a few weeks, it feels like it’s been forever.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

